Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login
A Hero Of Grunjord by NicolasRGiacondino A Hero Of Grunjord by NicolasRGiacondino
Happy Thor's Day, folks!

As you know, for over a little more than a year, I've been working almost exclusively for the fine folks at Ragnarok Publications which merged with Outland Entertainment, the company for which I already worked. My duties, as amazing as it sounds, include being the in-house illustrator for many of their fabulous books and I've been itching to show you what I've been doing for this particular anthology for a while now :D

"HATH NO FURY" is a collection of fantasy, science fiction, and urban fantasy tales by some of the leading proponents of female characters in the industry. These stories feature leads inspired by women from literature, history, and film—exciting and intriguing characters in the vein of Ellen Ripley, Lara Croft, Joan of Arc, Marvel’s Black Widow, La Femme Nikita, Katniss Everdeen, Hermione Granger, and Furiosa. Of course, I couldn't have been more grateful or honored to take on such a significant book and I've given it my all to make each illustration I was assigned as powerful and strong as the story that it portrays. 

"A Hero of Grünjord" is written by Lucy A. Snyder and it's an absolutely awesome tale that, as you can see above, involves dragons, alien invasions and a world that's so well developed even in this short story format that you can't help but wish to know more once you're done.
For the illustration itself, I not only read the story (as any worthy illustrator should) but I also got help from both the author and one of the book's editors, Melanie R. Meadors to get all of the details as close to her vision as possible. Especially when it came to the portrayal of the heroine Vinca, which I wanted to make sure was not the stereotypical 'femme fatale' or scantily-clad warrioress as it is such archetypes the kind of thing this book turns upside down and throws out the window (thankfully!). Dragons, as you know, haven't always been my forté, but when the tale is as engrossing as this one, this fabulous and majestic creature just leaped off my fingers.

You can check out the Kickstarter that was held for this anthology here: Hath No Fury

I'll keep you all updated as to where you can get the book once it's out and hopefully this image will prompt you to check it out!

Thanks as usual and see you soon!

Nic.-
Add a Comment:
 
:icondeviljackies:
Deviljackies Featured By Owner Jul 14, 2017  Hobbyist Artist
Dragon raider is so awesome!!!! I love it!!!!
Reply
:iconnicolasrgiacondino:
NicolasRGiacondino Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Professional Traditional Artist
Thank you :D

Nic.-
Reply
:iconspectorknight:
SpectorKnight Featured By Owner Jul 13, 2017
Loving the sepia tones, the dragon and the design of her armor. :)
Reply
:iconnicolasrgiacondino:
NicolasRGiacondino Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Professional Traditional Artist
I had such an amazing time drawing this that I had to stop and cherish the fact that I can make a living making these! Thank you for the kind words, Joseph!

Nic.-
Reply
:iconskaramine:
Skaramine Featured By Owner Jul 13, 2017  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Sold on this anthology!
Reply
:iconnicolasrgiacondino:
NicolasRGiacondino Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Professional Traditional Artist
It's an amazing book!

Nic.-
Reply
:iconlibra1010:
Libra1010 Featured By Owner Jul 13, 2017
 Given I cannot decide whether this lady or her dragon is the more formidable-looking we can safely say you've done the concept behind this anthology Justice!:D (Big Grin) 
Reply
:iconnicolasrgiacondino:
NicolasRGiacondino Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Professional Traditional Artist
:D That's my job, my friend!

Nic.-
Reply
:iconlibra1010:
Libra1010 Featured By Owner Jul 19, 2017
 - and you may well be the VERY Best at what you do Master Nicolas.Nod 
Reply
:iconmako85:
MaKo85 Featured By Owner Jul 13, 2017  Hobbyist General Artist
Oh boy oh boy! Now that definitely looks like it's worth checking out!:heart:
Reply
:iconnicolasrgiacondino:
NicolasRGiacondino Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Professional Traditional Artist
You're going to love this book, Tina! I'll see if I can snag a copy for you ;)

Nic.-
Reply
:iconmako85:
MaKo85 Featured By Owner Jul 18, 2017  Hobbyist General Artist
:thumbsup::meow::heart:
Reply
Add a Comment:
 
×




Details

Submitted on
July 13
Image Size
907 KB
Resolution
667×1000
Link
Thumb

Stats

Views
1,445
Favourites
169 (who?)
Comments
12
×